Spice Girl Dreaming of Springtime

I am on day 16 of 80 in my clean eating and workout program.  I am so ready for spring! While I love snowshoeing and how pretty and hushed everything looks after a fresh snowfall, it doesn’t hold a candle to planting my garden, staying outside late into the evening as the sun goes down or going for a run down a country road. I will say, that maintaining my workout regimen over the winter seems easier without those beautiful springtime distractions.

What better way to warm up this winter than with food with a fiery kick? I thought I would share one of my favorite spice blends that packs a punch to just about any dish. It’s not overwhelmingly spicy but for those who are more timid with the heat I would cut back on the red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper. I usually quadruple the recipe for this and keep it in a jar in the cupboard. It can be used for blackening chicken, seasoning soups, sprinkled on cooked veggies or in my favorite cajun cream sauce (recipe coming soon). Making your own spice blends helps you control the sodium and sugar content of your food and tends to cut down on costs over the long run as well.

Ingredients : 

  • 2 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp garlic powder
  • 4 tsp paprika
  • 3 tsp oregano
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp cayenne
  • 2 tsp thyme leaves
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes

Instructions :

Combine all ingredients in an airtight container.

cajun spice blend

If you’re looking for a change in life or want to learn more about the 80 day program I’m working my way through check me out on Facebook!

Hot Mess Mom Fitness and Food

Take a peek at my online store to learn more about the challenge pack that changed my life!

Hot Mess Mom Fitness Store

Leave a comment